Appeal Court Refuses Candidacies of 4 MPs who Ironically Voted for Political Isolation Law

Bahraini Parliament
Bahraini Parliament

2018-11-01 - 5:09 م

Bahrain Mirror: The Bahrain Court of Appeal has rejected the nomination of four current members of Parliament: Nabil Al-Belushi, Jalal Kazem, Usama Al-Khaja and Ahmed Qaratah.

It is noteworthy that the said MPs are those who voted on February 20, 2018 in favor of a motion to prevent the leaders and members of dissolved political societies by a final decision to run in the parliamentary elections.

"Today, the court has dropped the nomination of a group of MPs, some of whom voted for the law of political isolation, which prevents members of dissolved societies from running in the elections. What goes around, comes around," said Ibrahim Sharif, a prominent official of the dissolved Wa'ad Society, which was included in the ban.

A member of the Central Committee, Youssef Al-Khaja, said after he attached a picture of the rejected MPs: "The curse haunts the MPs who voted in favor of  the law that prevents members of dissolved political societies from running in elections."

The Parliament had passed, during the February 20 session, a motion forbidding the leaders and members of dissolved political societies to run in the parliamentary elections. It also prohibits anyone who harms or disrupts constitutional life by ending or leaving parliamentary service. All the MPs present voted in favor of the motion, with the exception of MPs Ali Al-Atish and Fatima Al-Asfour. MPs Issa Turki, Mohamed Al-Emadi and Abdul Hamid Najjar also abstained from voting.


Arabic Version


التعليقات المنشورة لا تعبر بالضرورة عن رأي الموقع

comments powered by Disqus